Learning How to Speak Spanish

Learning a new language can be pretty tough. Different verbs, nouns, and sentence constructions can be overwhelming when being introduced to a new language. For me this language was Spanish. While I did have help from my teachers and friends at school, learning Spanish can be difficult at times. But some things I did help me advance my Spanish skills.

spanish-flag
Image Credit: goodfreephotos.com

Early on in my Spanish experience answering simple questions could be tough. I had little knowledge of what simple word meant. Although my teacher helped me out with some words and verbs, certain ones I still didn’t know. When I came across a word I didn’t know, I would google the meaning and try to remember what it meant for future reference. Through this, I slowly but surely saw my Spanish speaking abilities grow.

As I got better on Spanish, speaking became easier. Another problem I ran into was listening and understanding the language. One thing I did to improve my listening ability was watch T.V. shows with Spanish subtitles. Hearing it in English but reading it in Spanish really helped me connect different words and sentence structures. Over time I transitioned to watching shows in solely Spanish. I found these two things very effective in making me more comfortable with the language.

The last thing I found helpful the most was just speaking the language with my friends. Speaking simple sentences like “Let’s go to the store” and “I want to play basketball” over and over with my friends helped me become comfortable with speaking. Over time small talk became a breeze in class and I was ready to learn more.

Have you ever learned a new language? Did you find it difficult like I did? Did you do any of the things I did when learning that language? And did you do anything else that I didn’t that you found helpful?

5 thoughts on “Learning How to Speak Spanish

  1. Max,
    I like your post and I can relate to it with my journey learning German. In fact, I wrote a post this month very similar to yours about learning to speak German. One thing I have found to be very helpful is using Quizlet. At least in German class, our grade is composed mostly of vocabulary quizzes. Tools such as Quizlet help me to learn and remember German vocabulary. Are you glad you chose to learn Spanish? Why did you choose this instead of German or French? What is your favorite part about learning Spanish? Thanks again for another high quality post!

    Like

  2. Max,
    I enjoyed reading your blog post. Currently, I am learning both French and Spanish and I think it is extremely interesting. Like you, when I first started learning French it was difficult to memorize new words and the way sentences are formed. Actually, while learning French I learned more about English. I also try to talk to my mom, who is a french teacher, and brother in French as much as I can for practice. This past summer I tested out of Spanish one. So over the summer I did as much as I could to prepare for the test. I even found a Spanish show on Netflix to watch with English subtitles. Watching this show really helped my reading comprehension and it was a fun way to do it. Another activity I found helpful was studying with an app called Duolingo. The app is free and easy to use. It helped me not just memorize words and grammar, but I started to understand the way sentences are formed and how words are pronounced. This app helps you speak in a different language without translating every word from English to it.

    Like

  3. Hi Max!
    I am a current french student. I have had five years of french and I still find the language extremely difficult. It has so many exceptions and rules that are hard to remember, but every language is like that, especially english. Practicing my vocabulary by using flashcards or quizlet has been very helpful. My teacher also has optional quizzes on quia that are over grammar rules. Studying for these and doing them makes the small things I learned in french one easier to remember. Hopefully I will become fluent one day, but I will definitely need more practice first!
    Mallory

    Like

  4. Hey Max,

    Learning a new language is tough. Through the psychology part of it, learning a new language becomes harder as we age. The optimal time to learn a new language is between the ages of 4-18 months, and since we are much older than that, learning any language is difficult. The difficulty comes from the unfamiliarity of the noises and meanings. It becomes harder to comprehend new languages as we age because our primary language is too ingrained in our brain. If a child is stimulated to two languages in the optimal time frame in equal amount, they have a higher chance of being bilingual and helps them with other stuff later in life as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

